Skip to content

Peach Balsamic Pizza

June 19, 2012

I don’t usually do seasonal food.

I wish I did…

I think it could be because I usually walk into the grocery store with $6 and desperate eyes. (I have five packs of soda now because it was buy two get three free. 1. How is that possible? and 2. How am I the sucker who was converted to hoarding by Safeway?)

This could be because I like ice cream in December, and I like to slow cook in July.

It could be because the temperature of my apartment, office and car typically suggest the opposite season of that of the outside world. I’m sitting at my desk with a blanket and space heater as I type.

But I think I finally get what constitutes a summer pizza.

This pizza is simple but fancy. It will make your mama proud and make your guests think you know what you’re doing. I mean, except that you really do… obviously…

Peach Pizza with a Balsamic Glaze (Adapted from Alexandra Cooks)

1/2 c. Balsamic Vinegar
1-2 peaches, washed and thinly sliced
Basil
Pizza dough (There is a recipe at Alexandra Cooks.  I will post my own favorite soon because I think I’ve finally found one!)
Mozzarella
Olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 if you want a softer, chewier crust. Crank it up to 450 if you want something thin and crispy.

Roll out your dough according to your preference.  Cover the top of the dough with a thin layer of olive oil. A tablespoon or two should suffice.

Add a thin layer of mozzarella. Probably 1/3 of a cup of shredded mozzarella would do.

Spread your thinly sliced peaches across the top.  Garnish with another third of a cup of mozzarella.

Bake.

While you are baking, bring your balsamic vinegar to a boil over medium heat. Let it reduce.  But watch the sucker like a hawk.  You want the vinegar to boil until it turns into a syrup. Don’t cover and keep an eye on it.  The best way for me to tell (because balsamic vapor is rather… bracing… when you stick your face near the pan) is to run your wooden spoon through the pan, paying attention to how long you can see the pan through the balsamic. The longer you see the pan (before the liquid overcomes it) the more syrupy it is.  It’s simple but helped me quickly check. After about fifteen minutes, I could see a line across the whole pan for a quick second. Mine was done at this point. Don’t burn it though, so err on the side of less syrupy. Balsamic in all its forms is delicious.  But if you can get it good and syrupy, you will know immediately that it’s worth it. I saved the remaining glaze and used it with bread, on salads, and on chicken later in the week. This glaze is my new life blood.

Remove the pizza from the oven. Top with basil leaves and Parmesan, to taste. Drizzle balsamic over top. You can draw pictures with it. Or not.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    June 19, 2012 5:17 pm

    The pizzas were super delicious! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

