Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cheesecake with a Pretzel Crust

June 1, 2012

I am not the easiest person to live with. I chew too much gum.  I always buy mustard when I see it at the store. I hate changing to a new roll of toilet paper. (Yep, Dad, it’s still true.) I am fairly comfortable with a thin layer of flour covering every surface of my apartment.

You know who sees these endearing habits the most?

That girl.

Erin, my lovely roommate, has learned to calmly look away when yet another splenda packet falls onto the floor from my purse. (I like to be prepared.)  She lets me have a full shelf on the refrigerator door for my mustard. And she almost always changes the toilet paper.

So for her birthday, I wanted to give her a big thank you.

That big.

So I combo’d up many of her favorite things: cute teddy grahams, peanut butter and pretzels. (I couldn’t figure out how to add Bailey’s. Sorry.) And so, I present on the fifth anniversary of Erin’s 21’s birthday and the fourth anniversary of our cohabitation: Peanut Butter Cheesecake with a Pretzel Crust

Peanut Butter Cheesecake (Adapted from here)

5 packages (8 ounces each) cream cheese, softened
1-1/2 cups brown sugar
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup Reese’s minis, cut into pieces
1 cup Chocolate chips

Pretzel Crust (Adapted from Coffee and Cannolis)

1 cup crushed teddy grahams
1 cup crushed salted pretzels
6 Tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
2 Tablespoons flour

So let’s begin.

Chop up the teddy grahams finely in a food processor.  Then chop up the pretzels. Try to leave some chunks of pretzel.

Combine the crushed graham crackers and pretzels with butter, sugar and flour.  Press the crumbs into the bottom of your springform pan.  (Use a spring form pan. Really.  It’s worth it.)

Bake at 350 for 5-10 minutes.  Then remove and let it cool while you whip up the cheesecake.

For the cheesecake, start by beating cream cheese and sugar until smooth. Add peanut butter and vanilla; mix well. Add eggs; beat on low just until combined.  Fold in the chips and Reese’s bits. Pour onto your cooled crust.

Bake at 350° for 50-55 minutes or until center is almost set. Remove from the oven; let stand for 15 minutes (leave oven on).

Refrigerate overnight for best results.

Garnish with either melted chocolate chips, drizzled across the top, or with some extra Reese’s bits, chopped up. Or, maybe both. You look adventurous.

Be prepared.  This cake will be demolished.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

