Skip to content

Beet Tzatziki

May 24, 2012
tags: ,

For Christmas last year, my lovely parents got me The Essential New York Times Cookbook.  And it is fantastic.  Amanda Hesser curated, tasted, and altered some of the best and most iconic of The New York Times’ recipes from across the last century.  The only problem is that I never think to use it. I usually search for recipes online, gleaning them from Pinterest or blogs I follow. So it’s only occasionally that I think to sit down and use this compendium of food knowledge.

But last week, faced with beets and no idea what to do with them, I turned to Hesser. And she got me through.  Right there under the beet heading of the index, I found my solution: beet tzatziki.

This is so good.  It has the cool and crispness of normal cucumber tzatziki with a little more tang. And it’s pink. Really pink. Win win, right?

So let’s resume with your cooked, cooled, and peeled beets. Over a bowl, grate the beets.  You can leave some chunks; they add some great textural variety.

Then add:

2 garlic cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 cups yogurt (I used plain yogurt. Greek would be wonderful as well)
1 tablespoon finely chopped dill (If you use dried dill, add another teaspoon or two.)
Black pepper to taste

(These amounts correspond to about a pound of cooked beets.)

Stir well.  Exclaim with glee over how pink it is.

If you have the time, let this sit in the fridge until it’s cool. Then dip away.

Adapted from a very similar version of this recipe, found here.

I promise this is worth it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

