Skip to content

What do I do with you?: “Beets-Me” Edition

May 23, 2012

I usually cook by necessity. I make buttermilk pancakes when I have half a carton to use, anana bread when I have browning bananas, and french toast when I have stale bread.

(Please note that I do not live in a den of decaying half-used food. Most of the time.)

So in an ambitious and perhaps foolhardy move, I ordered a brimming box of fresh fruits and veggies.  (If you are in DC and are interested, check out Washington’s Green Grocer.)

So on Friday, I got a whole box of things. Things, it turns out, I don’t know how to cook.  And now, as they glare at me unused in my shelf, I decided to learn something. So you get to learn it too.

Wooot!

So, beets.  There are two ways to prep beets for anything you want to do with them. You can roast them whole in foil with a bit of olive oil or you can boil them. I went the boiling route.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. You start by trimming the greens.

Don’t throw them away!  Here are just a few of the many things you can do with these lovely fellows.

If your beets has a dirty little beard like mine did, trim it too.

Then boil it for about 25 minutes. The water will turn awesomely purple.

After twenty minutes, remove your beet and run it under some cool water so you can handle it.

Then you peel of the outer layer.  This can be done easily with a paper towel.  (Yes, my paper towels have a beach theme. Don’t pretend you aren’t jealous.) Just give the beets a rub.

See the lovely smooth skin revealed underneath?

Eventually you’ll have a clean beet. In the middle of a crime scene.

You can do a million things with this peeled beet. You could chop it and throw it in a salad. Slice it and serve it with goat cheese. Cut it up and roast it.

And, tomorrow I’ll show you what I did with it.  (It’s like a cliff hanger. But with calories.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 7:18 pm

    That peeled beet legitimately looks like the still-pulsing heart that they pulled out of that dude in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

  2. May 23, 2012 7:19 pm

    That cooked beet legitimately looks like the pulsating heart that they pulled out of that dude in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

Leave a Reply

