Skip to content

Graduation and Greek Couscous Salad

May 16, 2012

This weekend, while standing in a Coral Gables parking lot, I found myself in the middle of a memory montage.  Standing there, while in real life my brother looked like this:

All I could see in front of me was this:

This is the kid I taught the laws of gravity by throwing his toys in the air. The kid who I read all of James and the Giant Peach to, out loud.  The kid who still turns purple when I ask who he’s dating.  (By the way, Mike, I forgot to ask…) I spent the whole weekend trying to strangle-hug him like he was still three… it is more difficult now that he has a good 6 inches on me.

When I arrived home on Sunday, emotionally drained and travel weary, my growling belly was my first concern. So the first thing I did, before unpacking, before showering, before even changing out of my travel clothes (which may have involved a bathing suit), I decided to take care of myself with food.

This Greek couscous salad (so called because there is something green in there. Hush, that counts.) is the kind of dinner that just makes you feel like you are feeding yourself well without too much time or effort. It was just the meal I needed.

 

Greek Couscous Salad 

Box of Couscous
Dill
Lemon
Lemon Juice
Vinegar
Cucumber
Greek yogurt
Feta
Olive oil/Salt/Pepper/Garlic

1. Prepare your couscous as directed.
2. Chop 3-5 cucumbers in slices, then quarters.  Add to a bowl. Sprinkle liberally with dill, lemon juice (either from lemon or from concentrate), and olive oil and white wine vinegar. Add a pinch of salt and pepper. Toss. (How much of these things, you ask? Its up to you! You are dressing the cucumbers, so play this by ear and by taste. You’ll do great.)
3.Take 3-4 tablespoons of greek yogurt, add two tablespoons of feta, one tablespoon of olive oil, one teaspoon of garlic, one tablespoon of lemon juice.  Mix well.
4. Once the couscous is done, add the above mixture to the couscous and stir. The couscous should clump a bit. This is great. Stir well. Add more olive oil/yogurt for the consistency you want.
5. Add a little more feta, crumbled, so you have chunks in the couscous.  Add lemon juice, dill, salt and pepper (to taste.)
6. Add your seasoned cucumbers.  Stir gently.
7. If you have a second, let it all sit. Even fridge it for a bit; this is best served cold.

This recipe is really something you can customize with what you have.  Have some scallions? Toss them in. Chickpeas? They’d be great.  If you don’t have greek yogurt, you could try sour cream with the feta. Think of your favorite Greek salad or food and use that as your ingredient list for further customization.

But take ten minutes and treat yourself.  Look at that fork-ful… you deserve it.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

