Skip to content

Shaved Asparagus Pizza

May 2, 2012

I read a lot of food blogs. Like, a lot.  So much so that I can usually tell what fruits and veggies are in season more by recent posts than by trips to the grocery store.  (I know, it’s bad. I’ll go to a farmer’s market this weekend. Or to Trader Joe’s. Promise.)

Asparagus is very much in season. So I am told here and here and here.

My grocery store confirmed the fact.

Asparagus doesn’t really need to be dressed up much. This pizza just lets its flavor shine through.

You do have to shave it though. But you’ll be great at that. Just use your regular peeler and watch your fingertips.

I know I’m not your mom…

Take your basic pizza dough.  (I’m still trying to find my favorite.  Look for a post soon.)

Throw your mozzarella on top.

Toss the asparagus with some freshly ground pepper, olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic and parmesan cheese.

Throw the asparagus on top. Top with a bit more mozzarella and parmesan.

Yum.

Shaved Asparagus Pizza (Recipe adapted from SmittenKitchen)

1 Tbsp of olive oil
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 lemon, juiced and zested
Pepper
1/2 lb of asparagus
Your favorite pizza dough
4 oz. or so mozzarella
2-3 Tbsp. parmesan cheese, grated

Instructions:

Prepare your pizza crust as usual.  Recipes for good crusts can be found here and here and here.

Using a veggie peeler, shave the asparagus into ribbons. (Deb has great instructions on this process at SmittenKitchen.)

Move the asparagus to the bowl.  Add olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, lemon zest, parmesan and pepper. Toss until coated.

Spread a thin layer of mozzarella over the pizza crust.

Plunk the asparagus on top (I just wanted to say plunk) and then sprinkle with mozzarella and parmesan.

Bake at 400 for  15 or so minutes for a single large pizza.  But really, I just look for the cheese to get brown and the crust to get crispy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

