Skip to content

Tilapia Tacos with Pineapple Peach Salsa

April 26, 2012

I don’t get over my vacations easily. They tend to linger with me for days.  (You might remember how I tried to make this one linger here.)  So coming back from Costa Rica, I am already trying to figure out how to pretend I didn’t leave.

Fish tacos help.

If I were still in Costa Rica, I would add some fresh mango too.  But customs didn’t love my three pound bag of mangoes.  (They didn’t really like Dan’s hair gel or my nail polish either, but that is neither here nor there.)

So let’s pretend I’m still on vacay. Start with some do-it-yourself taco seasoning.

Lightly drizzle some olive oil on your fillet…

Season it with your spice mixture…

And bake it up.

But now is the best part… the fixin’s.  You know how I love a taco bar.

Take some purple cabbage.  Best color ever.

Fresh cilantro…

And any other lovely toppings you desire.  I went with fresh pineapple and pre-bought peach salsa.  I threw them into a container and let them fall in love for a few hours.  That way you can taste pineapple throughout the salsa.

Now back to our tilapia, remove it from the oven…

Look at that deliciousness. Pour a bit of lime juice over the fish, add salt/pepper to taste, and then break it into bite-size bits.

Then it’s taco bar time!

Tilapia Tacos with Pineapple Peach Salsa (Adapted from Culinary.net)

1 pound tilapia fillets, rinsed and patted dry
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon each: ground cumin, oregano and garlic salt
Flour tortillas
Red cabbage
Peach salsa
Fresh pineapple (or canned)
Cilantro

1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
2. Stir together spices; set aside
3. Place tilapia in oven safe dish.  Lightly coat with olive oil on both sides.
4. Season both sides.
5. Bake 15 to 18 minutes.

Then break into small cubes/bites.  Proceed to make your own taco.

Consume taco.

Smile.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

