Skip to content

Maple Mustard BBQ Chicken… Say that ten times fast

April 13, 2012

Pinterest has eaten my life.

I wake up to my alarm and start scrolling through pins on my phone.  My most frequent interactions with my roommate are when we pin, repin, and like one another’s images.  I have been known to said, “Have you seen my board?” in everyday conversations.

It’s a little gross.

But every once in a while, I remember that Pinterest is more than just a way to justify my online shopping addiction. (If I pin all the things , I’m just defining my style. It’s constructive, obviously.) It can also be a source of inspiration and ideas.

So it is with gratefulness and love that I thank Pinterest for introducing me to Mustard Maple Chicken.

This recipe is so simple, so flavorful, and so impressive that I plan to put it into my dinner rotation. (Haha. I don’t have a rotation. That involves some form of organization and regularity. Just checking to make sure you are paying attention…)

So, here is what we start with:

After reading comments on the original recipe, and tasting some of the sauce myself, I decided to throw barbecue sauce in the mix.  I went with honey because it agreed with the sweetness/tang I was going for.

Mix the sauces together…

Smother your chicken with it…

Bake and serve.

See all of that extra sauce on the rice? It just made everything delicious. I couldn’t recommend this more.

Mustard, Maple, BBQ Chicken (Adapted from WittyintheCity.com)

4-6 Chicken Breasts
1/4 c. BBQ sauce
1/2 c. Dijon mustard
1/4 c. Maple syrup
2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
Fresh rosemary

Mix your liquids.  Cover the chicken with sauce, both sides.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, until chicken is no longer pink but not tough.

Enjoy.

This recipe makes far too much sauce… In a good way. So be prepared to have some bread or rice or other carb-vehicle for further sauce consumption… I’m not speaking from experience, of course.

One Comment leave one →
  1. EAK permalink
    April 13, 2012 4:02 pm

    Yum! When are we eating together again?

Leave a Reply

