Skip to content

Why is all the rum gone?

April 10, 2012
tags: , ,

Because I cooked it all…

Obviously.

Last year, I went to my boyfriend’s aunt’s house for Easter.  And, confessions time, it was my first holiday without my parents. I mean, I’ve spent the odd Halloween and flag day without mom and pop. But Easter, that’s one of the holiday Triumvirate.

More importantly, it was my first Easter without an Easter egg hunt. (Yep. I’ve been hassling neighborhood children out of candy for nigh on two decades.)  So, for my first grown up holiday with nary a peep in sight, I was apprehensive.

But then, I met this cake.

Well, not actually this cake. But its ancestor and spiritual guide.

Do you remember the cornucopia in Hunger Games? Dan’s aunt’s table looked like that… minus the violence. There were green beans and ham and deviled eggs and rolls and plates of wonderfulness. And on top, right on top of its cake stand, stood the rum cake.

Rum cake, the bow and arrows of an alternate dimension. Katniss would understand if I went for seconds…

This cake is the most moist, spongy piece of heaven I have ever had the honor of eating.

And suddenly I didn’t miss my jelly beans all that much.

So this Easter, when we tried to forge our own Easter, I knew my first step was to make my own rum cake.  Next time, I’ll make it in a rabbit mold. And eat the ears first…. nom…

Here is the cast of characters. Note the rum; you need dark rum.

You start with some yummy nuts. Pecans or walnuts will do. CHOP IT UP.

This is just for inspiration….

Throw it in the bottom of your bundt pan. If you don’t have a bundt pan, go to Harris Teeter. If you buy one, you get one free.

Speaking of which, anyone need a bundt pan?

Mix it up. Pour your ingredients into the pan, and let it bake, baby.

Once the cake has baked and cooled, take your fork and stab all over the cake.

Violence appears to be a theme of this post… Not too Easter-like…

Nonetheless, stab that sucker. Then you want to pour the glaze over top, and let it soak in.  Imagine you are watering a plant, except the plant is a cake, and the water is sugar and rum. How much better is that?

So here is the Marsh family recipe for the world’s best rum cake.

Sprinkle one cup chopped pecans or walnuts in bottom of a greased and floured bundt cake pan.

MIx:
1 pkg yellow cake mix (the kind with pudding) (I stared at all of the yellow cake mixes for ten minutes before I found the right one. Pillsbury. There, I’ve saved you ten minutes.)
3 eggs
1/3 c. oil
1/2 c. cold water
1/2 c. Bacardi dark rum
Cook at 350 degrees for 45 min to 1 hr.
Cool the cake in the pan for about 10 minutes, remove from bundt cake and place on plate.
Glaze:
Melt 1/4 cup butter
Stir in 1/4 c. water and 1 c sugar
Boil the above for a few minutes. (Stir continously; it will brown. You want to let it caramelize a bit, but not burn.)
Remove from heat and stir 1/2 c. rum into mixture.
Prick the top of a cake full of holes using a fork.

Pour the glaze on top of the cake.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

