Skip to content

Pineapple and Strawberry Chicken Tacos

March 23, 2012

Someday I will plan my meals. I will print out balanced recipes with meats and veggies and carbs.  I will look in my shelves to see what I need. I will walk down the aisles of the grocery store with a list, pulling my boxes and cans and cartons with robotic focus. In my cart, there won’t be a stray bag of M&M’s anywhere in sight.  Then I will prep my meals, freeze things, and cook things so that every night I will have something lovely to eat.

Someday….

But for now, I will shop last minute and entirely on impulse. I will have butter and eggs and 14 containers of yogurt and absolutely no milk or water.  I will have a stack of printed recipes for brownies and cookies and breakfast cookies without a savory recipe in sight. I will have six bags of brown sugar but I can never remember if I already have one.

And I will cook meals entirely composed of what I can scrounge up in my own abode instead of going to the store like a civilized person.

Welcome to one of those meals.

Let me introduce you to the contents of my fridge:

Please don’t ask how long I’ve had that cider.

Now, when cooking on the fly, the first thing to do is come up with a theme.  (I’m an English major. It’s in my blood.) And what is the theme of this meal, you ask…

I didn't clean it up for you. Let's pretend that makes us better friends.

So with 1/3 of a container of Santa Fe Chili marinade and the memories of Rio in my mind, I started off.

I added the Santa Fe Chili marinade to a healthy dose of lime juice (I still have Caipirinha’s on the brain) and a lot of ground pepper.

Abstract art?

Then I added the chicken and let that sit while the oven heated up to 350.

Next, I assessed my fridge.  Here is what I found:

1. Half a container of salsa
2. 6 strawberries
3. A few leftovers from a fresh pineapple I bought (do you see what I’m saying about the impulse buys)
4. Some not-quite-wilted cilantro and leftover spinach
5. Cheddar cheese

I can work with this.

I dispatched my assistant for tortillas and assembled the lot. (Ok I don’t have an assistant, but as soon as I start planning my meals and shopping with lists, I’m sure one will appear.)

Here’s what we ended up with:

I love taco bars. Then people can control their own culinary creations. I am tyrant of my plate, so I like to give others the same luxury.

DINNER TIME!

Fruit in savory dishes is my favorite trick in the world.  It takes an ordinary dinner and dresses it up in a nice dress and heels.  So please,  take this lady out on the town!

One Comment leave one →
  1. hungrycupcakes permalink
    March 23, 2012 5:14 pm

    Love chicken and fruit combo! Check out our sweet walnut chicken salad… You would LOVE!

Leave a Reply

