Skip to content

‘brigada Brazil

March 6, 2012

My dear friend Charlotte studied Portuguese in college. And in some secret part of my soul, I may have thought, really? Portuguese? I’m a romance language lady, but two countries in the world speak it.  And one week in Lagos, Portugal convinced me that Portuguese was just confusing Spanish.

I was wrong. I’ve been in Brazil with the same lovely lady for three days. And she was right. Portuguese is great. I keep singing the words to myself. (You can ask her. I have.)

Obrigada, bon dia, tudo bom. Except you pronounce them “Brigada,” “Bom gia,” and “tud.”  It’s like a secret language.

(Char, your next assignment is the secret language of France. We will start with a lesson on why they have letters at the end of words if they aren’t going to say any of them.)

So, Brazil, forgive me. I’m a convert.

This is the Brazilian equivalent of a “15 or less” aisle… It’s for pregnant women, ladies with babies, and the elderly. Or maybe just people with canes. Hmmm…

More pictures from the grocery store. The fish here is incredible. They sell huge blocks of fish everywhere.

I am staying in the financial district of the city. The buildings themselves don’t display much character.  But the walls just outside of this area are all covered in bright murals. Trippy, right?

The mercado municipal is the market where (I am told) locals go for their fresh fruits and produce. And, oh, the produce….

WHAT IS IT?  I don’t know. But I ate it and it was delicious. I wish I was as brave outside of the realm of food….

True story. I just thought this was funny.

And here’s my Brazilian.  She’s gazing into the night.  Apparently, that’s what Brazilians do. I think she’ll fit in nicely.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 1:30 pm

    I expect some cashew juice upon your return. Also, more pictures, please!

  2. March 6, 2012 3:07 pm

    Love the pics (prose, goes without saying). Can I request a montage on the deserts of Sao Paolo? Specifically that acai sherbet I’ve heard about…

  3. EAK permalink
    March 6, 2012 7:27 pm

    If we were all requesting things, then how about some of the natives. Good ole fashioned people watching. We need to prepare ourselves for what clothing trends Char will start following, besides the assumed floss.

  4. March 7, 2012 7:05 am

    love your sense of humor!
    Take very good care of mu Brazilian :)))

Leave a Reply

