Skip to content

Hearts and things…

February 14, 2012

Ahhhh, Valentine’s. I am not too big on you.  I think this might be related to the number of years spent with one Valentine (my grandmother) and Sex and the City reruns. But, let’s get real, you are a good excuse. You are a good excuse for being taken out to dinner, for watching six chick flicks in a row while eating candy hearts, for wear pink (ironically, of course), and for make heart-shaped things.

Yarn Valentine at the Phillips Museum

And here comes my confession:  I made heart-shaped brownies. I may have even bought a heart-shaped cookie cutter just for this purpose. And you know what, I am not ashamed. They are adorable, and they made a man smile. It’s the simple things.

Love, Tupperware edition

But here’s the other thing: I made them from scratch. Now, for those who know me, you know processed food and I are tight. We grew up together. I was raised on mashed potato flakes, frozen fish sticks, and cakes from a box. And I might now be trying to grow up a bit. But, Duncan Hines, fear not; you still have a time and a place in my heart. That time and place being twenty minutes before I need to be holding a completed cake (which will then be fifteen minutes late). But I am all about these brownies.

What makes these brownies so special? Well for me, it’s that they are made just as brownies should be. With chocolate. Two bags of semi-sweet goodness. Two bags. Yep. You can thank me later.

Look at that goodness.

The recipe is easy and fast. And best of all, the finished product has chocolate in all of the transitional forms of melted. So you get the chocolate that integrated fully into the batter, you get some chocolate nibs, and you get some big ol’ chunks. Which are the best. I might add the second bag of chocolate chips even later next time so it’s even chunkier. That’s just how I roll.

Brownies, as they should be
(from Tasty Kitchen, minus the nuts because I disagree with them.)

Ingredients

  • 1-½ cup Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ⅔ cups Butter
  • 1-½ cup Granulated Sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons Water
  • 2 packages Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (12 Ounce Packages)
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 4 whole Eggs

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 325F.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl and mix to combine. In a large saucepan, melt the butter with the sugar and water. Bring just to a boil and remove from heat. Stir in one package of the chocolate chips and the vanilla extract. Whisk in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Slowly blend in the flour mixture, and then add the remaining package of chocolate chips.

Pour into a greased 9×13″ pan and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Be careful not to over-bake, and make sure that your toothpick is coated with uncooked batter and not melted chocolate chips if you’re going to continue baking longer. Let cool at least 2 hours before serving.

P.S.  The origin of “U R CUTE”: text message or candy heart?  It’s like the chicken or the egg, but far more important.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 14, 2012 10:11 pm

    Those are just about the most adorable brownies I’ve seen in my day.

Leave a Reply

