Skip to content

Slow cooking… So hot right now

February 2, 2012

Slow Cooker: A Haiku

Slowly you warm up
Your gleaming steel curves entice
Smoldering warmth

I think I have a crush on my slow cooker.

At first it seemed too old for me.  It took things a little too slow. It planned too much in advance. It couldn’t hang out on a moment’s notice.

But there was something about it. I knew that if I just got used to it, gave it’s time line a chance, something great could happen.

And so I gave it a chance. We had a few long days together, really get to know each other.  We let things develop slowly.  And now I’m head over heels.

Let me introduce:

Balsamic chicken with sweet potatoes.

This dish is all about balance. The sweetness of potatoes, the savor of chicken thighs, the tang of balsamic.  It tastes a little like Thanksgiving, distilled.  That is always a good thing. I recommend making this on a day when you are going to leave your house, and come back cold and tired to the smell of warm roastiness.

Roastiness is key.

Balsamic Chicken with Sweet Potatoes (loosely adapted from SkinnyCrockpot.com)

Ingredients:

4-6 chicken thighs
1 (or 2) onions, thinly sliced
1 c. balsamic vinegar
1/4 c olive oil
1 tsp. each: oregano, basil, rosemary
3-5 sweet potatoes
1 c. chicken broth
Salt and pepper to taste

Cut up your sweet potatoes into small to medium sized chunks.  Leave the skin on.  That’s the yum part. Then sliced your onions.

Add enough olive oil to just start to cover the bottom of the pot.  Add the veggies.  Then a little more olive oil.  Then the herbs, salt and pepper.

Last, add the chicken thighs.  (Make sure to trim the visible fat.) Top with the remaining olive oil and the balsamic.

Cook on high for 4 hours.

Serve with an additional dash of balsamic on top.

A few notes:

I would up the rosemary next time.  Rosemary and sweet potatoes are like Pebbles and Bam Bam. They belong together.

I also think some cranberries here could be key.  Ok, I miss Thanksgiving.  I’ll admit it.

(More pictures in the future. I’m learning. Try to still like me.)

Leave a Reply

