Skip to content

The culprit

January 30, 2012

The culprit: Habelman Bros. Company Fresh Cranberries.  Oh, Habelman brothers, how you have tormented me.  Every December, I see you in the aisle, festive and red. I see our life together, full of sauces and pies and cakes and garnishes.

Image

And then around rolls January, and you still sit in my fridge, taunting me.

In bright red too.

But with the oncoming threat of slowly rotting fruit, and the realization that I have nothing in my fridge other than a stick of cream cheese and wheat germ, I decided to cook the suckers up.

Enter my hero:  Pumpkin Cranberry Bread!  (BONUS This recipe also eliminates the pumpkin can that has been sitting in my cupboard since October. I think I need to get my seasonal shopping in check.)

First I chopped up my cranberries.

Image

Then the dry ingredients…

Image

Then the wet…

Image

Mmmmmm…. pumpkin….

Then I folded the cranberry into the batter, so there would be some lovely concentrated areas.   Image

See the red burst of tangy goodness up at the top?  It’s either a firework or a zit, but I don’t like blemishes on my baked goods, so let’s go with a firework….

BREAAAAAD

It is possible I removed the bread from the oven a smidge before it needed to come out.  Hence it’s diminutive stature. But hey, I like my bread moist. Yes, moist. I said it.

Enjoy,

Blueberry.

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread (Lena Corwin’s recipe from Design*Sponge)
1 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (one small can)
2/3 cup butter, melted
2/3 cup water
4 eggs
3 1/2 cups flour
3 cups sugar
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup [coarsely] chopped fresh or dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350F/180C degrees. Combine the eggs, pumpkin, butter, and water in a large bowl. In another bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients, plus the nuts and cranberries. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix with a wooden spoon by hand. Mix until the batter is combined, but don’t over mix. Grease the pans, and distribute the batter equally in the pans (should fill each about half way up). Bake for 1 hour.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

